Since this is a blog about marathoning…and makeovering,…I figured I should update about both!

I ran my half on Sunday April 18 – and had a PR of 2:13:xx! About a minute better than my best time and much better than my time from a year ago! I’d like to think that my training was part of it, but I think that maybe taking Immodium before the race was a help too (heh, thanks belly). I took about 10 days off of running and just cross trained, and now I’m getting back into base building before I start training for Disney in mid July.

Makeover-wise, I have begun to Sparkpeople! Sparkpeople.com is a diet and lifestyle site with a focus towards calorie and calories-burned counting. I approached sparkpeople very carefully because I have a history with  undereating  and also with undereating while using Sparkpeople.

But that was my issue. Just like you can’t blame a calculator for giving you a failing grade on a math test, I can’t blame Sparkpeople for my undereating. That was all me, and it’s not me anymore.

I do have a goal weight in mind, as well as some goal measurements – but eating healthfully and fueling my running is now and will alway be my main goal.

Lastly, I want to send some positive press out there for the Unite Half Marathon put on by CGI Racing. This was by far the best organized race I have ever participated in (and I”ve done a good few) – water stops were plentiful, port a potties were also plentiful, and the other course support was spot on. The police officers, paramedics, volunteers, course marshals, and on course entertainers were wonderful and I am so appreciative to them for making this race great.

The Unite Half is definitely going to be my first half after Disney next year!

Be well, run strong and live happy.

